The Jerusalem Unity Prize in Memory of Eyal, Gil-ad and Naftali, and Unity Day, is a joint initiative between the Mayor of Jerusalem Nir Barkat, the families of Eyal Ifrach, Gil-ad Shaer and Naftali Fraenkel z”l, and Gesher. As the week of mourning for the boys was coming to an end in the summer of 2014, Mayor Barkat and the families searched for the appropriate way to nurture the flames of unity that so engulfed the Jewish people during that time, and keep them burning. The Jerusalem Unity Prize and Unity Day honor that sense of togetherness and hope that was so tangible during those 18 days from when the boys were kidnapped and until their bodies were found.

The Jerusalem Unity Prizes are substantial awards given to individuals, organizations, and initiatives in Israel and throughout the Jewish world whose actions are instrumental in advancing mutual respect for others amongst the Jewish people, both in times of crisis and in daily life. The Prizes are awarded during a special ceremony held at the President of Israel’s official residence on Unity Day, at the beginning of June each year. In the 2 years since the launch of Unity Day, 26 countries throughout the world, and over 1.5 million people have marked the day. Unity Day is a global movement joining schools, youth movements, congregations and communities for activities, conversation and inspiration.  Unity Day 2018 will be marked on June 6, 2018.

  • picture-vaadat-hapras-1-mx5ft4dii4bup20ixdzdxf0wjrbirptgxooqwxmci8

    Mayor of Jerusalem Nir Barkat Chairman

    Prize Committee Chairman
  • kobi-oz572-b-mx5ft4dii4bup20ixdzdxf0wjrbirptgxooqwxmci8

    Kobi Oz

    Singer and producer
  • tn_asad-new-n0kr6sqsbgoi3bx6xyi8ohebswbzfvx1hqr95ocw5s

    Amal Assad

    Israeli-Druze General Brigadier (res)
  • tn__sho8522-mx5ft84v9ggzzhv2bflw7e2qxaszmi8ea7aou1grtc

    Lt.-Gen. (res) Benny Gantz

    20th Chief of Staff of the I.D.F.
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-5-mx5ft696vsefc9xsmesn2ejtqj29740xlxzpvhjk5s

    Rabbi Yitzchak David Grossman

    Winner of the 2014 Israel Prize for Lifetime Achievement
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-2-mx5ft3fobaakdg1w2vkrcx9fydg5k0pqlk19fnnqog

    Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks

    Former Chief Rabbi of Britain and the United Kingdom
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-3-mx5ft4dii4bup20ixdzdxf0wjrbirptgxooqwxmci8

    Rabbi Dr. Danny Tropper

    President Emeritus of Gesher
  • sharansky-mx5ft4dii4bup20ixdzdxf0wjrbirptgxooqwxmci8

    Natan Sharansky

    Chairman of the Jewish Agency for Israel
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-4-mx5ft696vsefc9xsmesn2ejtqj29740xlxzpvhjk5s

    Professor Yuli Tamir

    Former Minister of Education
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-7-mx5ft5bcoyd50nz5rwe0hwsd556vzex79tc8e7kyc0

    Iris & Ori Ifrach

    Parents of Eyal z"l
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-9-mx5ft3fobaakdg1w2vkrcx9fydg5k0pqlk19fnnqog

    Racheli & Avi Fraenkel

    Parents of Naftali z"l
  • picture-vaadat-hapras-8-mx5ft3fobaakdg1w2vkrcx9fydg5k0pqlk19fnnqog

    Bat-Galim & Ofir Shaer

    Parents of Gil-ad z"l
  • DSC_0163

    Noam Lautman

    Chairman of the Lautman Family Foundation, social entrepreneur

Prize Team

  • image-mx5ftgleyyskvziry19jbtxw9rnajs5zbd625j489c

    Anat Schwarz Weil

    Executive Director Jerusalem Unity Prize
  • gila2

    Gila Brill

    Director of International Initiatives
  • amysharvit

    Amy Sharvit

    Director of International Initiatives
  • 11059583_10153247347254618_6120978342219516054_n-mx5ft7712mfpnvwfgx79mwbabwxmet4ny2n7cri5zk

    Kobi Shmuel

    Director of Unity Day Israel

We will be happy to answer any questions

Robert & Amy Book
David & Sarena Koschitzky
Ira & Ingeborg Rennert
Jay & Jeanie Schottenstein
Ronnen Harary
UJA Federation of New York
Contact us
© 2022 The Jerusalem Unity Prize
Website by ELILEV.ME | Design by WINSITE